Get back to work Milk!

12 Sep

I got a message while i was living the highlife at Haven from an old friend of mine i used to work with in my Manchester/Liverpool days. He needed someone to help him deliver a marketing project for 3-4 months and he thought i’d be ideal.

Ego – kerching!

So there i was muddling along quite happily, having dealt with some of my own demons over the past year or so, and finally settling down into the life of a SAHM. I’d pretty much resigned myself to the fact i would probably be doing it until the littlest was at school, and i was okay with it. Sort of. Then i got the phonecall, and i saw the job description and these butterflies starting fluttering around in my stomach that i thought had long dissipated. A part of me that had been hibernating for a few years, initially subdued by force, seemingly lounging in acquiescent slumber. I realised that maybe my career drive hadn’t quite left me, temporarily or otherwise.

I was immediately up for it. More than that actually. I felt a sudden selfish urge. Sod the kids. How was i going to make this happen?

Ok so my motherly instincts did kick back in at some point, and i starting weighing everything up and working things through sensibly. And luckily i was able to make sense of it all and put the relevant plans into place.

So i start this week. Exciting. Coffee breaks and heels, what more could a woman want?

And i never knew its appeal until an opportunity came and smacked me in the face.

Now i’ve just got to work on the husband. He’s got off scot free on the homemaker front these past few years. I’ll have to get his marigolds back out and clean his pinnie. The nice one with the breasts on it.

We’re going back to the interesting and befuzzled division of roles of the modern-day world for a bit. Wish me luck!

26 Responses to “Get back to work Milk!”

  1. Adam September 12, 2010 at 6:38 am #

    Good luck! :o)

  2. Adam September 12, 2010 at 6:39 am #

    (Emoticon kind of failed there, should have been a smile!)

  3. Femi September 12, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    Good luck. I’m sure its going to go swimmingly 🙂

  4. christinemosler September 12, 2010 at 6:45 am #

    How exciting! Good luck! (with the job and the OH training…send any tips my way!) x

  5. Kate Able-Green September 12, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    Good luck! Let us know how it works out! I’d love to try this one day!

    Kate x

  6. TheMadHouse September 12, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    Well done, I am sure you will be great, Marketing to Milk to Marketing again!

  7. Linda September 12, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    Good luck and I’ like to see that pinny.

  8. Kate September 12, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    Fantastic. Hope it goes well.

  9. jfb57 September 12, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    How exciting! Here if you need re-inforcements with the ‘you look wonderful in marigolds Dahling’ conversation!

  10. rozzibee September 12, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Great news! Sounds very exciting! x

  11. Aly September 12, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    Hope it all goes well for you.We need to a pic of hubby in the pinny.

  12. 21stcenturymummy September 12, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    That’s great. Are you going back full-time or part-time for the project? I loved being a SAHM for the first year whilst on maternity leave – don’t think I could have gone back to work because I was too tired. But I did feel my brain turned to mush and now I like the fact my 2 year old goes to nursery 2 days at week and I can work from home.

    • marketingtomilk September 12, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

      3 days a week until xmas. a perfect toe in the water. x

  13. jomiddleton September 12, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    High heels and coffee breaks – what’s not to love? I always find it funny that for mums, the main thrill of going back to work is being able to drink a cup of tea in peace, and finish it while it’s still hot!

    Hope you have a lovely time – I’m sure it will be a massive confidence boost. xx

  14. Princess L September 12, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    Good luck

  15. Muddling Along Mummy September 12, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    Good luck – I make no secret of the fact that whilst i love being a mum I also love working (ok not always but quite a lot of the time)

    We’re still working at getting the homefront balance a bit more balanced, let me know if you find the perfect solution

  16. Alethea September 12, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    Yay!

    Mind you don’t get the jitters from all the coffee on your first day back!

  17. The Contented? Maybe September 13, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    Enjoy the high-heeled march into the office. I’m sure it won’t just be your height that experiences a boost from the return to work 🙂

  18. Paula September 13, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Coffee break, heels and human interaction! Great stuff, I’m delighted for you. Good luck with it all.

    Px

  19. Kristin (Wanderlust) September 14, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    Congratulations and best of luck with the new job! It’s a wild ride but I’m sure you’ll manage it.

  20. Peggy September 15, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Brilliant! Have lots of fun and be flexible… What I mean is that hubby might not be perfect first time on the home front, but persevere 😉
    seriously I understand the feeling. After kids especially if you stop working for a while you tend to kill the little voice that says ” but you like working too”. Embrace it!

  21. scribblingmum September 21, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Hope it’s all going well, three days is a great balance – enjoy !

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Milk Retrospective: According to Karren Brady you can have it all « - October 30, 2010

    […] having gone back to work on a contract part time doing what i love, i have to admit it’s maybe not all the doom and […]

  2. What was i thinking? « - November 22, 2010

    […] to work, stay at home mum, working mum by marketingtomilk Many of you will be aware that I went back to work recently. Well, i’m working a contract, but hopefully there’ll be more where that came […]

I'm all about the debate. Would love to hear what you think.